The Definitive Chronological Order of Pirates of the Caribbean Movies (2023)


Embark on a cinematic journey through the high seas with the Pirates of the Caribbean film series. In this comprehensive guide, we unveil the chronological sequence of these swashbuckling adventures, ensuring you experience the captivating tales in the right order. From the iconic debut in "Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl" to the latest exploits in "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales," we unravel the narrative thread of Captain Jack Sparrow and his enthralling companions.

1. Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003)

Duration: 142 min. | Release: August 14, 2003

Witness the genesis of the legendary Captain Jack Sparrow as he clashes with the supernatural forces surrounding the infamous Black Pearl. Join forces with Will Turner and Elizabeth Swan as their destinies intertwine on the treacherous waters, setting the stage for a saga that would define the pirate genre.

2. Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest (2006)

Duration: 150 min. | Release: August 11, 2006

Delve into the origins of Will Turner as the narrative expands to explore his familial ties and introduces Bootstrap Bill. Encounter the mythical Flying Dutchman and its enigmatic captain, Davy Jones. This installment is the first part of a two-part story that unfolds with gripping intensity.

3. Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (2007)

Duration: 167 min. | Release: May 24, 2007

Building upon the groundwork laid in the previous film, "At World's End" navigates the climax of the tale aboard the Flying Dutchman. Experience a decisive naval battle and witness the culmination of character arcs. The yearning for closure is met with a spectacle that leaves an indelible mark on the franchise.

4. Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011)

Duration: 140 min. | Release: May 7, 2011

Breaking away from the overarching narrative, "On Stranger Tides" ventures into a standalone story. Captain Jack Sparrow takes center stage in a quest for love and an encounter with the formidable pirate Blackbeard. While showcasing stellar performances, the film grapples with disjointed storytelling and pacing issues.

5. Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (2017)

Duration: 128 min. | Release: May 26, 2017

In the final chapter, Captain Jack Sparrow faces his past in the form of Captain Salazar. Hunt for the legendary Trident of Poseidon unfolds, reuniting Jack with former comrades. Despite its attempt to rejuvenate the series, "Dead Men Tell No Tales" faces criticism, notably for the reintroduction of Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann.


As we navigate the tumultuous seas of Pirates of the Caribbean, the franchise's allure persists despite its later challenges. While the original trilogy stands as a pinnacle of pirate cinema, subsequent entries showcase the struggles of sustaining the magic. Stay tuned for the upcoming spin-off with Margot Robbie, promising a new chapter in the legacy of Pirates of the Caribbean.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Kelle Weber

Last Updated: 13/11/2023

Views: 5782

Rating: 4.2 / 5 (53 voted)

Reviews: 92% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Kelle Weber

Birthday: 2000-08-05

Address: 6796 Juan Square, Markfort, MN 58988

Phone: +8215934114615

Job: Hospitality Director

Hobby: tabletop games, Foreign language learning, Leather crafting, Horseback riding, Swimming, Knapping, Handball

Introduction: My name is Kelle Weber, I am a magnificent, enchanting, fair, joyous, light, determined, joyous person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.